Feminism or should I say Equality?

eq.jpgHola amigos

Before I start I want to promise you that this will not be a feminist rant but just a general over view of why I believe in feminism, hence making me a feminist.

I am a feminist because I  believe in EQUALITY. You are a feminist if you believe there should be political, economic and social equality between men and women. And yes you can be a man and be a feminist. 

I am not a feminist because I hate men or that I’m being “sexist” against men. I believe that a woman should be able to walk down the street at night without, having to be paranoid and on the phone to someone just in case something happens to them.

Here are a couple of reasons why I am  a feminist;

  • I just don’t like the fact that women get turned down certain jobs as they need a “masculine” candidate or the fact that men get a better pay still, in some jobs. Why are you judging against someones gender and not their capabilities or qualifications?
  •  According to the U.N. 99.3% of women and girls in Egypt have been subjected to sexual harassment. I am not a feminist because I am selfish or “want to be different” I am a feminist because there are still countries and states that have their women oppressed.
  •  In 2014, an estimated 14 million girls worldwide, some as young as 8 years old, were married. Girls/woman are being objectified, sold off to men twice their age
  • Because I am sick and tired of hearing “why don’t you go to the kitchen where you belong  and make me a sandwich.”  No I bloody will not. Go and make it your damn self.

No I do not take feminism to the extreme, getting mad at a lad for holding the door for me, or walk down the streets without proper sanitation. These are feminist extremist I would say. You have extremists in every thing e.g religion. These people take things too far (personal opinion I guess) and take feminism way past its limits to the point they aren’t feminists anymore. They call themselves it but they can’t be because feminism is about equality not women over powering men.

Aren’t you tired of being told to be quiet and polite because you’re a lady? Aren’t you tired of being told to stop sitting like a man and to sit like a lady? I just don’t understand why girls are brought up being taught how to cover themselves up and how to self defend when really, they should be teaching the boys how to be gentlemen and to not victimise girls as objects of sexual pleasure. 1 in every 3 women globally are victims of rape or assault, now that is a staggering amount of people that don’t deserve that torture and pain.

All I wanted to say is that we need feminism otherwise we would be living in a world which consisted of oppressed women.  Just like Malala Yousafzai said “how can we all succeed when half of us are held back?”  We can make a change just even by standing strong in our every day lives, if all us girls/women, all around the world stood their ground we could make all the difference.

With love

sprinklesofkindness x

 

P.S I’m extremely sorry about the irregular blog posts I have just been busy with revision or trying to revise (by that I mean procrastinating watching films or reading)

Leave a Reply

